Part 1 | The wounds no one sees. Hitting rock bottom.

trauma3

The body heals first; the mind heals, maybe.

I don’t remember writing it but a week after the crash, I wrote a blog. How to survive, after you survived a car/bike crash : week 1 . Here is the journey into and out of the darkness. It is a journey that I have kept very private. I hope sharing this journey helps others understand that oftentimes the worst pain is on the inside and I hope it gives courage to those living in the darkness to keep fighting for brighter days.


I mostly lie in bed staring at the wall but I am healing. I am smiling. I am walking. I am able to tolerate light, noises, people. I somehow drove a car. I mopped the floor. I can pedal a bike. I’m doing great. They think I’m doing great.

In the first few weeks and even months I make a lot of progress. My family and friends see that I am getting back to myself. I am so positive. Every week I set a new goal and I achieve it. I am so grateful and appreciative of my life. I am finding happiness. I celebrate the little things in life. The crash is old news now.

I start to regress.

When I ride I imagine myself dying. I see a cyclist and I imagine them dying. Every car I see is going to kill me. Everything is going to kill me. A tragedy is around every corner. I fear everything.The house is going to burn down and Luna is inside. I don’t trust that the green light is actually green.

I’m not sleeping anymore. I need a job. My bank account is shrinking. The medical bills fill my mailbox. I don’t feel any validation. I feel like a failure. What is the meaning to my life? I want to run from everything that defines me.

I can pedal a bike and hike. I post happy pictures on social media. You think that I am doing well.

My brain hurts. I cry. I can’t focus. I can’t sleep. I can’t calm down. I’m so overwhelmed. I’m shaking. I feel stupid. I’m so stupid. I can’t think clearly. I am alone in this. I am empty. I am scared.

At the end of August a road trip to Ohio is abandoned because I can’t handle being in the car. The anxiety is unbearable. What is wrong with me?

On my bike, a car turns in front of me and I make contact with it. A phone call later and Johnathan is driving twenty-some hours straight from Ohio to tell me that I will be okay.

I am not okay. What is wrong with me? Why I am being so weak?

I am forgetful. I am confused. I am not the type of person who makes mistakes. I never forget anything. I lie awake at night. My mind moving so fast searching for answers. I begin googling trying to understand what is wrong with me.

google

I trust no one. I am hypersensitive. No one understands. I am letting my friendships fall apart. I am isolating myself. Those who care about me seem to only make it worse. I feel like I am letting my loved ones down. I feel so stretched thin. I am pouring all of myself into everyone and everything. It is not enough. Why can’t they be understanding? I want to run. Instead, I lie in bed; the endless throbbing of my leg serving as a reminder that I have to fight through the pain.

In November, I pack a bag and spend a week hiking 14ers with Johnathan. We sleep in the car. We hike all day. There is little cell service. I avoid people. I avoid my life. I avoid the fear, the pain and the emptiness. I am exhausted but for the first time since July 29th, I am calm and I feel a sense on contentment with my life. I don’t want to return to society. I don’t want to go home. I can’t go back to my life. The life that is suffocating me.

In December, I am riding my bike towards Estes Park. I think about packing a bag and going on a hike. The kind of hike where you don’t come back for a year. One day in December I realize I hadn’t heard from my mom in several hours. It’s been a busy day and I squeezed in a ride before physical therapy. I talk to my dad on my drive to therapy. My mom and Duke have been hit by a car and are badly injured. There is no strength in my dad’s voice. What little comfort and safety I felt in my life is destroyed. I cannot find the words to capture the feelings I had that night. The pain I’ve been feeling for months is a pain I want no one I love to ever feel. I want to take away my mom’s pain. I can’t. Why is life so cruel? The anger is deafening.

A few weeks after I return from Ohio I’m descending Lee Hill and I don’t care how fast I go. I don’t care about the outcome. My behavior is changing from overly cautious to what’s-the-point-in-caring. I am empty.

I’ve waited months for my appointment at the Brain and Behavior clinic. I fall apart explaining what has happened since July 29, 2016. I fall apart explaining that I don’t want to accept a ‘dumber’ version of myself. I used to be so smart. I fall apart explaining that I don’t know how to fix myself and that I fear I will never be the person I used to be. I am broken. She refers me to trauma therapy. Part II.

6 thoughts on “Part 1 | The wounds no one sees. Hitting rock bottom.

  1. Thank you for sharing. I know how hard it is to share a very private personal thing like this. I was at this place once, unless you take drugs to help (which I had to for a couple of months it was so bad) all you can really do is take it one step at a time. Talking does help. To me, family and friends couldn’t/wouldn’t understand but telling a stranger did. Surround yourself with what makes you happy and focus on you first. I hope you get well, and I know you don’t know me but if you need anything, I am here 🙂

    Like

  2. You are beautiful. You are loved. God has an awesome plan. He gave you such talent and such gifts. He has a higher purpose. That love for the outdoors and riding is from Him. Let Him carry you thru this. I’ve learned so much thru the dark valleys of my life and His purpose for me. I know as you come thru it, you’ll have an amazing sense of empowerment to share with others.

    Like

  3. It’s so hard to get over a concussion.
    The worse thing we do to ourself is not to give it time, understanding and patience.
    I am going thru the healing process also. I still don’t like to “really” talk about it.

    Like

  4. When I was struck by a vechicle on my bike I had many of the same feelings you have expressed. Everyone is different and everyone heals physically and mentally at their own rate. For me verbalising what I was feeling was the worst it made it “real.” I am not going to say something cliche like time heals all. But taking things day by day and just try and find one thing a day that can make you laugh has helped me over the last three years.

    Like

Leave a comment